Assespro Award announces 2008 edition winners


Author: Cláudio Neves


The master of planning at the University of California, Henrique Rzezinski, who is senior vice president of External Relations at Embraer, president of the Brazilian Section of the Brazil-United States Business Council and consultant to the World Bank, will be the speaker at the 2008 ASSESPRO Award - Personalities of the year, which will be held on August 27, at 08:18 pm, at the headquarters of the Federation of Industries of the State of Rio de Janeiro (Firjan).

Organized annually by the Association of Brazilian Information Technology, Software and Internet Companies in Rio de Janeiro (Assespro-RJ), the event aims to honor professionals who stood out for their creativity and talent in bringing progress to the economy and society, for through information technologies.

This year the names of the winners, nominated by the award committee, were:

  • The economist, with a doctorate at Yale University (USA), and professor at USP's Faculty of Economics, André Franco Montoro Filho, who is president of the Brazilian Institute of Ethics in Competition (ETCO), will receive the award in the Third Sector category.

  • Denise Camolez, president of the Rio de Janeiro Taxpayers' Council, an agency linked to the Municipal Finance Department.

  • Julio Lagun, Undersecretary of State for Scientific and Technological Development in Rio de Janeiro;

  • Luiz Fernando Gomes Soares, “father” of Ginga, Brazilian digital TV middleware, developed at PUC-Rio.

  • Mário Fleck, Investment Management director, responsible for Rio Bravo's value and activism fund since August 2004, when he assumed the management of RB Fundamental FIA.

  • Paulo Couto, business administrator with specialization in marketing and finance, founder and editor of the Forum PCs portal.

  • As well as the speaker at night, Henrique Rzezinski, from Embraer, who will speak on the theme "How the world sees Brazilian technology".

At the same event, the Assespro Best Companies Award will be delivered, but the names of the winners will only be announced during the ceremony. They formed the jury responsible for choosing the personalities in this category, professionals from the specialized press, from PUC-Rio, from Sebrae, and from FINEP.

According to Cláudio Nasajon, president of Assespro, the award night has been an opportunity for big names in Rio's IT sector to come together to discuss future challenges.

On the occasion, Riosoft in partnership with Universidade Estácio de Sá and support from SEPRORJ and ASSESPRO, will launch the Webdesign course for the physically disabled.

Those interested in participating in the 2008 Assespro Award - Personalities of the Year, must confirm their presence by e-mail The Firjan Convention Center is located at Av. Graça Aranha, nº 1 - Centro - Rio de Janeiro. Admission is free. More information by phone (21) 2507-7181.